The Alaska Board of Massage Therapy oversees the licensing of massage therapists in AK where massage is a professional therapeutic health service. Massage therapists in AK go to massage school and pass a course of study of at least 625 hours of in-class supervised instruction and clinical work from an
approved massage school. After graduating from massage school, they take an exam and pass an exam from a nationally recognized competency examination. They then can apply for a license with the Alaska Board of massage which includes a process of being fingerprinted for criminal history record check. You can check to see if the therapist you have chosen is licensed on the Alaska Board of Massage Website.
The laws in Alaska say that Massage therapists may call themselves : massage, massage practitioner, massage therapist, massage therapy, therapeutic massage, massage technician, massage technology, massagist, masseur, masseuse, myotherapist, myotherapy, or another term describing a traditional European or contemporary western massage method, or a derivation of a term that implies a massage technique or method.
Massage therapists in AK follow a strict Code of Ethics and follow Standards of Practice, and Establishment Standards of Operation must be on the premises and made available to the public on request. They must display within full public view, current massage licenses of all employed
massage therapists. The sessions you have with a massage therapist will be kept on record for 5 years with appropriate care of private information. Prices must be displayed and discussed before each session so there are no surpises.
Exempt from Massage licensing
Some types of practitioners are exempt from having to go to massage school and can practice without a massage license. People practicing something called Structural Integration who are recognized by the International Association of Structural Integrators are allowed to practice without a massage license. Structural Integration is a process of 10-11 sessions with specific goals that requires specific training. The IASI approves 16 different training programs and requires that a certification test be taken through the Certification Board for Structural Integration (CBSI). The minimum training requirements are 500 hours of instruction in Structural Integration Theory, 230 hours in general bodywork, ethics, business practices and 100 hours of anatomy, physiology and kinesiolgy.
People who perform traditional Native American Healing, and people who are only massaging the hands, feet and ears (Reflexology) and who do not call themselves a massage therapist are exempt from massage licensing.
Specific Laws for Alaska Massage Therapists
Sec. 08.61.030. Qualifications for massage license in Alaska requires that massage therapists be:
(5) has been fingerprinted and has provided the fees required by the Department of Public Safety under AS 12.62.16 for criminal justice information and a national criminal history record check; the fingerprints and fees shall be forwarded to the Department of Public Safety to obtain a report of criminal justice information under AS 12.62 and a national criminal history record check under AS 12.62.400;
(9) has not been convicted of, or pled guilty or no contest to, a crime involving moral turpitude, or who has been convicted of, or pled guilty or no contest to, a crime involving moral turpitude if the board finds that the conviction does not affect the person’s ability to practice competently and safely.
12 AAC 79.910. “MORAL TURPITUDE” DEFINED. Under AS 08.61.030, a crime involving moral turpitude
(6) sexual assault;
(7) sexual abuse of a minor;
(8) unlawful exploitation of a minor, including possession or distribution of child pornography;
(9) indecent exposure;
(10) unlawful distribution or possession for distribution of a controlled substance;
(12) sex trafficking;
(14) human trafficking;
(15) criminal sexual conduct;
(21) endangering the welfare of a child;
(22) endangering the welfare of a vulnerable adult;
(23) reckless endangerment.
12 AAC 79.930. REGULATION OF MASSAGE THERAPY ESTABLISHMENTS. (a) A massage therapy
establishment, unless exempted under (b) of this section, must register with the board …
(b) A massage therapy establishment is exempt from complying with (a) and (c) of this section if the majorityowner of the massage therapy establishment business is a currently licensed
(1) acupuncturist under AS 08.06;
(2) chiropractor under AS 08.20;
(3) naturopath under AS 08.45;
(4) massage therapist under AS 08.61;
(5) physician, osteopath, mobile intensive care paramedic, or physician assistant under AS 08.64;
(6) direct-entry midwife under AS 08.65;
(7) advanced practice registered nurse under AS 08.68; or
(8) physical or occupational therapist under AS 08.84
Sec. 08.61.070. Practice of massage therapy without license prohibited. (a) A person may not practice massage therapy or represent that the person is a massage therapist unless the person holds a valid license under this chapter. In this subsection, a person represents that the person is a massage therapist when the person adopts or uses a title or description of services that incorporates one or more of the following terms or designations: massage, massage practitioner, massage therapist, massage therapy, therapeutic massage, massage technician, massage technology, massagist, masseur, masseuse, myotherapist, myotherapy, or another term describing a traditional European or contemporary western massage method, or a derivation of a term that implies a massage technique or method.
(b) A person who knowingly violates (a) of this section is guilty of a class B misdemeanor.
Alaska does not allow MT to take CE classes in Breast Massage or animal massage which I am assuming it means these things are not allowed in AK.
Massage Therapists in AK
Code of Ethics (PDF) Outlines draping requirements and sexual misconduct.
American Massage Therapy Association AK Chapter : https://ak.wp.amtamassage.org/
AMTA AK Facebook page -https://www.facebook.com/alaskaamta/